Maryvale Superintendents and Timeline

A brief timeline of the history and evolution of Maryvale

  • 1873-1922: A one room schoolhouse is built on the corner of Maryvale and Cayuga.

  • 1922-1944: The four room Cayuga Road school was built.

  • 1944- 1949: A five room school is built on the north end of the Airport Plaza.  Maryvale is a "Common School District" with a three member Board of Education.

  • 1948: Maryvale becomes a Union Free School District, a designation which enabled the District to build a High School for grades 9-12.

  • 1949-1951: Kindergarten through 8th grade children at Maryvale attended school at 777 Maryvale Drive. High School students had to attend Depew or Pine Hill schools.

  • 1952: Maryvale's first Junior/Senior High School opens. (The site of the current high school)

  • 1953-1965: The District constructed three elementary schools, a Junior High School, additions to the three elementary schools and a new grade 7-8 Junior High School.

  • 1968: Sixth graders from East and U-Crest elementary schools were housed on the secondary school campus.

  • 1970: The Samuel R. Bennett Administration building opened and housed sixth graders from East and U-Crest elementary schools.

  • 1972: Maryvale becomes a Superintendency.

  • 1983: Maryvale closes three elementary buildings: North Hill, Maryvale East and Maryvale Elementary

  • 1984: Maryvale is re-structured into Primary, Intermediate, Middle and High Schools.

  • 2010: The new Natatorium is dedicated to Mr. Gary Brader

  • 2011: The 9/10 Building is dedicated to Dr. Robert A. Binner.

  • 2017: The auditorium at the High School is formally re-named the William Fichtner Performing Arts Center.

  • 2019: The Football Stadium re-opens with artificial turf.

  • 2020: The new artificial turf softball, baseball, and soccer fields open.

  • 2023: Construction began on the new gymnasium at the High School.

Superintendents of Maryvale

  • Dr. Samuel R. Bennett- 1972-1974

  • Dr. Robert A. Binner- 1974- 1992

  • Mr. Gary Brader- 1992-2009

  • Mrs. Deborah Ziolkowski- 2009-2015

  • Mr. Joseph R. D'Angelo- 2015- present